## **OFFICE OF THE NEVADA ENVIRONMENTAL RESPONSE TRUST TRUSTEE**

Le Petomane XXVII, Inc., Not Individually, But Solely as the Nevada Environmental Response Trust Trustee 35 East Wacker Drive - Suite 690 Chicago, Illinois 60601 Tel: (702) 960-4301

April 27, 2020

Mr. Weiquan Dong, Ph.D., P.E. Bureau of Industrial Site Cleanup Nevada Division of Environmental Protection 2030 E. Flamingo Road, Suite 230 Las Vegas, NV 89119

RE: Response to Comments on the Final Report of Findings In-Site Bioelectrochemical Laboratory-Scale Treatability Study Nevada Environmental Response Trust Henderson, Nevada

Dear Dr. Dong:

The Nevada Environmental Response Trust (NERT or "Trust") is pleased to present the response to comments on the final report of findings for the In-Situ Bioelectrochemical (ISBEC) Laboratory-Scale Treatability Study for Nevada Division of Environmental Protection (NDEP) review. The ISBEC Laboratory-Scale Treatability Study Report (Report) was submitted to NDEP on February 26, 2020, and agency comments were received on March 23, 2020.

As you are aware, and subsequent to submittal of the Report, the Trust had communicated to NDEP regarding its desire to discontinue further evaluation of ISBEC technology in a field application. While the Trust continues to evaluate various other in-situ remedial technologies, including Zero-Valent Iron and carbon-based donor bioremediation, further evaluation of ISBEC may be warranted in the future if deemed prudent based upon review of additional data.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this matter, feel to contact me at (702) 960-4301 or at brian.loffman@lepetomaneinc.com.

Office of the Nevada Environmental Response Trust

Brian K. Loffman, CEM Senior Program Manager CEM Certification Number: 2265, exp. 9/21/20

Cc (via NERT Sharefile Distribution):

Jeff Kinder, NDEP, Deputy Administrator Frederick Perdomo, Deputy Administrator James Dotchin, NDEP, Chief, Bureau of Industrial Site Cleanup Carlton Parker, NDEP, Bureau of Industrial Site Cleanup Office of the Nevada Environmental Response Trust Trustee April 27, 2020

Weiquan Dong, NDEP, Bureau of Industrial Site Cleanup Alan Pineda, NDEP, Bureau of Industrial Site Cleanup Christa Smaling, NDEP, Bureau of Industrial Site Cleanup Alison Fong, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 9 Mark Duffy, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 9 Jay Steinberg, as President of the Nevada Environmental Response Trust Trustee and not individually Andrew Steinberg, as Vice President of the Nevada Environmental Response Trust Trustee and not individually Steve Clough, Nevada Environmental Response Trust Tanya C. O'Neill, Foley and Lardner, LLP Allan DeLorme, Ramboll John Pekala, Ramboll Kim Kuwabara, Ramboll Derek Amidon, Tetra Tech Dan Pastor, Tetra Tech Kirk Stowers, Broadbent Inc. Kurt Fehling, The Fehling Group

Cc (via NERT Stakeholder Sharefile Distribution):

Betty Kuo, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California Brenda Pohlmann, City of Henderson Carol Nagai, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California Dave Johnson, LV Valley Water District Eric Fordham, Geopentech Jill Teraoka, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California Kevin Fisher, LV Valley Water District Marcia Scully, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California Maria Lopez, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California Mickey Chaudhuri, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California Orestes Morfin, Central Arizona Water Conservation District Peggy Roefer, Colorado River Commission Steven Anderson, LV Valley Water District Todd Tietjen, Southern Nevada Water Authority

Cc (via NERT BMI Companies Sharefile Distribution):

Anna Springsteen, Neptune Inc. Kirk Stowers, Broadbent Inc. Kristen Lockhart, Neptune Inc. Kurt Fehling, The Fehling Group Patti Meeks, Neptune Inc. Paul Black, Neptune Inc. Paul S. Hackenberry, Hackenberry Associates John Edgcomb, Edgcomb Law Group Andrew Barnes, Geosyntec Brian Waggle, Hargis + Associates Chinny Esakkiperumal, Olin Corporation Chuck Elmendorf, Stauffer Curt Richards, Olin Corporation Dave Share, Olin Corporation Ebrahim Juma, Clean Water Team Ed Modiano, de maximus Gary Carter, Endeavour LLC George Crouse, Syngenta Harry Van Den Berg, AECOM Jeff Gibson, Endeavour LLC Joanne Otani, Joanne M. Otani LLC

Office of the Nevada Environmental Response Trust Trustee April 27, 2020

Joe Kelly, Montrose Chemical Joe Leedy, Clean Water Team Kelly McIntosh, GEI Consultants Kevin Lombardozzi, Valhi Kyle Gadley, Geosyntec Lee C. Farris, Landwell Mark Paris, Landwell Michael Bogle, Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice, LLP Michael Long, Hargis + Associates Nick Pogoncheff, PES Environmental, Inc. Ranajit Sahu, BRC Richard Pfarrer, TIMET Rick Kellogg, BRC Jack Luna, Tronox John Holmstrom, EMD Mike Skromyda, EMD