OFFICE OF THE NEVADA ENVIRONMENTAL RESPONSE TRUST TRUSTEE

Le Petomane XXVII, Inc., Not Individually, But Solely as the Nevada Environmental Response Trust Trustee
35 East Wacker Drive - Suite 690
Chicago, Illinois 60601
Tel: (702) 960-4309

July 13, 2023

Compliance Coordinator Bureau of Water Pollution Control Nevada Division of Environmental Protection 901 S. Stewart Street, Suite 4001 Carson City, NV 89701

RE: NPDES Permit NV0023060

Revised Operations and Maintenance Manual Nevada Environmental Response Trust Henderson, Nevada

Dear Compliance Coordinator:

The Nevada Environmental Response Trust ("NERT" or the "Trust") maintains NPDES Permit NV0023060 for discharge of treated water, as part of our on-going effort to capture and treat groundwater containing perchlorate in the Henderson, Nevada area. Section A.2.1 of the NPDES Permit states: "The Permittee shall submit, for review by the Division, two (2) copies of any updated pages and/or sections of the Groundwater Extraction and Treatment System (GWETS) Operations and Maintenance (O&M) manual. The O&M manual update shall be prepared by a qualified person familiar with the system operations."

Consistent with the NPDES Permit, NERT is submitting the attached updated O&M Manual for the NERT Perchlorate Treatment System, Revision 8 – June 2023, which has been revised by Envirogen Technologies, Inc. (Envirogen), the groundwater treatment plant operator, to add operating procedures for the Effluent Filtration System (EFS). As you are aware, the 100 percent design for the EFS was approved by NDEP on June 6, 2023. Due to the potential shutdown of the existing clean water supply, construction of the EFS was expedited and the system should be operational by July 21, 2023. According, NERT is submitting Revision 8 of the O&M Manual for the NERT Perchlorate Treatment System which includes operational procedures for the EFS.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this matter, feel to contact me at (702) 960-4309 or at steve.clough@nert-trust.com.

Office of the Nevada Environmental Response Trust

Stephen R. Clough, P.G., CEM

Stephen R. Clough

Remediation Director

CEM Certification Number: 2399, exp. 3/24/25

Cc (via NERT Sharefile Distribution):

Jeff Kinder, NDEP, Deputy Administrator Frederick Perdomo, NDEP, Deputy Administrator

Office of the Nevada Environmental Response Trust Trustee July 13, 2023

James Dotchin, NDEP, Chief, Bureau of Industrial Site Cleanup

Alan Pineda, NDEP, Bureau of Industrial Site Cleanup

Weiguan Dong, NDEP, Bureau of Industrial Site Cleanup

Marie Underwood, NDEP, Bureau of Water Pollution Control

Danielle D. Ward, NDEP, Bureau of Industrial Site Cleanup

William Frier, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 9

Mark Duffy, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 9

Jay Steinberg, as President of the Nevada Environmental Response Trust Trustee and not individually

Andrew Steinberg, as Vice President of the Nevada Environmental Response Trust Trustee and not individually Brian Loffman, Le Petomane, Inc.

Tanya C. O'Neill, Foley and Lardner, LLP

Dan Peterson, Ramboll

Chris Stubbs, Ramboll

Kim Kuwabara, Ramboll

David Bohmann, Tetra Tech

Dana Grady, Tetra Tech

Rick Kenter, Arcadis

Kim Haymond, Arcadis

Cc (via NERT Stakeholder Sharefile Distribution):

Betty Kuo, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

Carol Nagai, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

Christene Klimek, City of Henderson

Christine Nobles, Central Arizona Project

Daniel Chan, LV Valley Water District

Dave Johnson, LV Valley Water District

Deena Hannoun, Southern Nevada Water Authority

Eric Fordham, Geopentech

Jill Teraoka, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

Katherine Callaway, Central Arizona Project

Laura Dye, Colorado River Commission

Marcia Scully, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

Maria Lopez, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

Mauricio Santos, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

Mickey Chaudhuri, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

Orestes Morfin, Central Arizona Project

Steven Anderson, LV Valley Water District

Todd Tietjen, Southern Nevada Water Authority