OFFICE OF THE NEVADA ENVIRONMENTAL RESPONSE TRUST TRUSTEE

Le Petomane XXVII, Inc., Not Individually, But Solely as the Nevada Environmental Response Trust Trustee
35 East Wacker Drive - Suite 690
Chicago, Illinois 60601
Tel: (702) 960-4309

September 3, 2020

Dr. Weiquan Dong, P.E. Bureau of Industrial Site Cleanup Nevada Division of Environmental Protection 375 E. Warm Springs Road, Suite 200 Las Vegas, Nevada 89119

RE: Nevada Environmental Response Trust (NERT) Response to: Nevada Division of Environmental Protection's July 31, 2020 Response to NERT's Transmittal of RI/FS Work Plan Addendum: Phase 3 Remedial Investigation, Revision 1; Response to July 11, 2017 Letter and Comments from the Lower Colorado River Water Quality Partnership and Response to August 29, 2017 Comments from NDEP on the May 5, 2017 RI/FS Work Plan Addendum; Phase 3 Remedial Investigation Nevada Environmental Response Trust Henderson, Nevada

Dear Dr. Dong:

NERT has received and reviewed NDEP's above-identified comments and provides the following response. As discussed with Mr. James (JD) Dotchin, NERT is unable to submit a Remediation Investigation (RI) Modification in response to NDEP's letter dated July 31, 2020 letter at this time. NERT anticipates submitting a detailed response to NDEP by October 31, 2020.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this matter, feel to contact me at (702) 960-4309 or at steve.clough@nert-trust.com.

Office of the Nevada Environmental Response Trust

Stephen R. Clough, P.G., CEM

Stephen R. Clough

Remediation Director

CEM Certification Number: 2399, exp. 3/24/21

Cc (via NERT Sharefile Distribution):

Jeff Kinder, NDEP, Deputy Administrator
Frederick Perdomo, NDEP, Deputy Administrator
James Dotchin, NDEP, Chief, Bureau of Industrial Site Cleanup
Carlton Parker, NDEP, Bureau of Industrial Site Cleanup
Alan Pineda, NDEP, Bureau of Industrial Site Cleanup
Christa Smaling, NDEP, Bureau of Industrial Site Cleanup
Alison Fong, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 9
Mark Duffy, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 9

Jay Steinberg, as President of the Nevada Environmental Response Trust Trustee and not individually

Office of the Nevada Environmental Response Trust Trustee September 3, 2020

Andrew Steinberg, as Vice President of the Nevada Environmental Response Trust Trustee and not individually Brian Loffman, Le Petomane, Inc.

Tanya C. O'Neill, Foley and Lardner, LLP

Allan DeLorme, Ramboll

John Pekala, Ramboll

Kim Kuwabara, Ramboll

Dan Pastor, Tetra Tech

David Bohmann, Tetra Tech

Cc (via NERT Stakeholder Sharefile Distribution):

Betty Kuo, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

Brenda Pohlmann, City of Henderson

Carol Nagai, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

Dave Johnson, LV Valley Water District

David Parker, Central Arizona Project

Eric Fordham, Geopentech

Jill Teraoka, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

Kevin Fisher, LV Valley Water District

Marcia Scully, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

Maria Lopez, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

Mauricio Santos, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

Mickey Chaudhuri, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

Orestes Morfin, Central Arizona Project

Peggy Roefer, Colorado River Commission

Steven Anderson, LV Valley Water District

Todd Tietjen, Southern Nevada Water Authority

Cc (via NERT BMI Companies Sharefile Distribution):

Anna Springsteen, Neptune Inc.

Kirk Stowers, Broadbent Inc.

Kristen Lockhart, Neptune Inc.

Kurt Fehling, The Fehling Group

Patti Meeks, Neptune Inc.

Paul Black, Neptune Inc.

Chinny Esakkiperumal, Olin Corporation

Chuck Elmendorf, Stauffer

Curt Richards, Olin Corporation

Dave Share, Olin Corporation

Ebrahim Juma, Clark County Water Quality

Ed Modiano, de maximus

Jeff Gibson, Endeavour LLC

Joe Kelly, Montrose Chemical

Joe Leedy, Clark County Water Quality

John Solvie, Clark County Water Ouality

Kevin Lombardozzi, Valhi

Lee C. Farris, Landwell

Mark Paris, Landwell

Nick Pogoncheff, PES Environmental, Inc.

Ranajit Sahu, BRC

Richard Pfarrer, TIMET

John Holmstrom, EMD