## STATE OF NEVADA



Department of Conservation & Natural Resources

Joe Lombardo, Governor James A. Settelmeyer, Director Jennifer L. Carr, Administrator

December 19, 2023

Jay A. Steinberg Nevada Environmental Response Trust 35 East Wacker Drive, Suite 690 Chicago, IL 60601

Re: Tronox LLC (TRX) Facility
Nevada Environmental Respo

Nevada Environmental Response Trust (Trust) Property NDEP Facility ID #H-000539

Nevada Division of Environmental Protection (NDEP) Response to Annual Groundwater Monitoring and GWETS Performance Report, July 2021 – June 2022 Performance Period

Dated: November 20, 2023

Dear Mr. Steinberg,

The NDEP has received and reviewed the Trust's above-identified Deliverable and finds that the document is acceptable with the following comments noted for the Administrative Record:

- NDEP reserves its comments regarding perchlorate mass loading contributions, plume comingling, and flux/discharge into the Las Vegas Wash until after its review of the NERT OU-3 RI Report and finalized NERT groundwater model, both of which are currently in development.
- 2. The perchlorate mass fluxes crossing the boundaries between the operation units, model layers and southern bank of the Las Vegas Wash are heavily dependent on the NERT groundwater model that is still in developing, so NDEP also reserves its comments on these fluxes until the NERT groundwater model is finalized and approved.

Please contact the undersigned with any questions at wdong@ndep.nv.gov or 702-668-3929.

Sincerely,

## Dong Weiguan

Weiquan Dong, P.E. Bureau of Industrial Site Cleanup NDEP-Las Vegas City Office

WD:AP

EC:

Frederick Perdomo, Deputy Administrator NDEP

James Dotchin, NDEP BISC Las Vegas

Alan Pineda, NDEP BISC Las Vegas

Andrew Steinberg, Nevada Environmental Response Trust

Anna Springsteen, Neptune & Company Inc.

Betty Kuo Brinton, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

Brian Waggle, Hargis + Associates

Brian Loffman, Nevada Environmental Response Trust

Brian Rakvica, Syngenta

Carol Nagai, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

Chris Ritchie, Ramboll

Christine Klimek, City of Henderson

Chuck Elmendorf, Stauffer Management Company, LLC

Claire Trombadore, EPA

Dana Grady, P.E. TetraTech

Dan Petersen, Ramboll

Dane Grimshaw, Olin

Daniel Chan, SNWA

Darren Croteau, Terraphase Engineering, Inc.

Dave Share, Olin

Dave Johnson, LVVWD

David Bohmann, TetraTech

Ed Modiano, de maximis, inc.

Eric Fordham, GeoPentech

Gary Carter, Endeavour

Jay A. Steinberg, Nevada Environmental Response Trust

Jeff Gibson, Endeavour

Jill Teraoka, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

Joanne Otani, The Fehling Group

Ashley Green, Montrose Chemical Corporation of CA

Joe Leedy, Clean Water Team

John Edgcomb, Edgcomb Law Group

John-Paul Rossi, Stauffer Management Company LLC

John Solvie, Clark County Water Quality

Karen Gastineau, Broadbent & Associates

Kathrine Callaway, Cap-AZ

Kelly McIntosh, GEI Consultants

Kelly Richardson, Latham & Watkins LLP

Kirk Stowers, Broadbent & Associates

Kirsten Lockhart, Neptune & Company Inc.

Kim Kuwabara, Ramboll

Kurt Fehling, The Fehling Group

Lee Farris, BRC

Marcia Scully, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

Maria Lopez, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

Mark Duffy, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 9

Mark Paris, Landwell

Mauricio Santos, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

Melanie Hanks, Olin

Michael J. Bogle, Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice, LLP

Michael Long, Hargis +

Mickey Chaudhuri, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

Nathaniel Glynn, Latham & Watkins LLP

Nicholas Pogoncheff, PES Environmental, Inc.9

Orestes Morfin, CA

Paul Black, Neptune & Company

Peter Jacobson, Syngenta

Ranajit Sahu, BRC

Rebecca Sugerman, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 9

Richard Pfarrer, TIMET

Rick Kellogg, BRC

R9LandSubmit@EPA.gov

Roy Thun, GHD

Spencer Lapiers, de maximus

Steve Clough, Nevada Environmental Response Trust

Steven Anderson, LVVWD

Steve Armann, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 9

Tanya O'Neill, Foley & Lardner L

Todd Tietjen, SNWA

Warren Turkett, Colorado River Commission

William Frier, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 9

Zeitel Sentz, de maximus